What’s happening in Taipei: December Edition

Dear Taipei,

A pinch and a punch for the first day of the month!  December has hit us, so I hope you’re ready for the onslaught of Christmas decorations (which already started appearing prematurely last month) and cries of “where did the year go- it felt like July just the other day?!”

If you’re wondering what’s happening in Taipei this December, check out the article I wrote for Travelog (please click the title or the picture directly below)

Taipei this December: Video art, Super Junior and Fried Ice

Screenshot_2015-12-01-13-34-56_1.jpg

It’s a round up of some of the amazing art, music, culture, festive fun and nightlife events on in Taipei in December.
The article features a mish-mash of events so hopefully there’s at least one event which might strike your interest! Obviously I was limited in how many events I could write about so had to select ones with the broadest appeal (hey, I might not like them but Super Junior are undeniably huge).

It wouldn’t be right of me to write about all these events and not attend them myself, so I’m planning to attend most of them:

  • Video Art Exhibition: I’m hoping to catch it this weekend as it sounds incredible, so I’ll report back about it here! It’s only on until the 6th so make sure to get in quick!
  • Giant Christmas Tree: I already have plans to see this monster of tree in Banqiao sometime this month. I was immediately sold by line “World’s only 360 degree 3-D Label Flash Christmas Tree”-I can’t wait to discover what exactly that means:)
  • Fried Ice: This  event will undoubtedly go off- the organisers are known for their fantastic parties (Havana anyone?), and they’ve been doing this particular event since 2012. Sadly, I can’t go myself as have a friend’s birthday. This is especially disappointing because pretty much the one slightly impressive sporting thing I can do is skate backwards.
  • Hot Spring Festival: I have a deep dark secret I must confess- I still haven’t been to Beitou Hot springs (I know…I know), so with the weather becoming more chilly I will take the excuse to head to the festival and get my tourist on with a Happy Passport in hand.

December is going to be great guys! I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my bones (shout out to all the other Love Actually tragics out there!). Sure, it’s always a bit stressful because with the end of the year wrapping up there is so much to do in a seemingly shorter amount of time.

But finally, the time has come when I can legitimately sing All I want for Christmas is you, and only be judged on my song choice, and not also the awful timing of singing it all year long.

That’s a pretty good trade off I think. Cover your ears people!

-TTT

Permission granted to post header picture. Image source and for more information about the Christmas event please visit:
(English) http://tour.ntpc.gov.tw/tom/lang_en/index.aspx
(Mandarin) http://tour.ntpc.gov.tw/tom/lang_tw/index.aspx

9 comments

  1. Do you know any good places in Taipei to view Christmas decorations? (trees, lights, etc.) Is there even such a place haha

    Like

    1. Hi Maureen! Long time no speak 🙂 Hope you’ve been keeping well!

      You mean apart from the event I mentioned? That one seems to be the “biggest” event- seeing as it’s stretched out over the whole month (plus it has Taiwan’s biggest Christmas tree!)

      At Taipei City Hall they have a Christmas display! Lots of lights and displays.

      Taipei 101 area of course has lots of Christmas joy- though I haven’t yet checked it out myself!

      Department stores should have some displays either outside or inside their doors.

      I will let you know if I come across any more!

      Thanks for writing!

      Like

      1. Oh I see, I thought Banqiao was a lot farther from Taipei. 🙂 I will probably check that one out. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s technically in New Taipei City. If you’re going from central Taipei it can feel like a bit of a long ride if you’re used to just going to stations which are at most fifteen to twenty mins away (how lucky we are!), but it should only be around 35 mins from central Taipei (of course depending on which stop you get on at).

        Have fun viewing!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What is fried ice, and how can I learn more about the events you post?

    Like

    1. Hi David!

      Thanks for your comment!

      It doesn’t seem like you clicked the link which is why you’re a bit confused why I am talking about Fried Ice haha 🙂

      Please click the link or the picture I posted, and it will take you to the actual article I wrote. In it everything is explained in more detail and there are links to even more information.

      Fried Ice is a one night event involving ice skating, DJs and drinks. Crazy as it sounds!

      Cheers!

      Like

  3. This is sooo cool!! i hope we get to do some of these december-y things together, looks like so much fun!
    PS. I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes…. can’t stop!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much dear!

      Yes, let’s! I already love December!

      I think we should even try to squeeze in a wine fuelled Love Actually session 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We totally should!! I’m so in for Love Actually+wine night 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment